Pregnancy Update: Week 31

Today I am putting up a little bit different photo to show my progress. My husband and I went to a wedding this past weekend and we had a blast. We danced up a storm and there was a waitress who could not wipe the huge smile from her face while watching us. It was great. I found a cute dress in Miraflores from a dress store across the street from Kennedy Park (next to Ripley) for under $100 which isn’t bad especially because I will be able to use the dress again when I am not pregnant. Thank goodness for nice flowing dresses.

week 31

Cravings: Meat. Specifically red meat. I have no reason why but maybe I am craving the iron or protein. I had a delicious hamburger the other day and I cannot get enough of lomo saltado (a stir fry dish with fries, onions, tomatoes and red meat strips).

Reading: I was just sent this article from a friend about dreams. I have had my fair share of dreams but they are pretty much just dreams that make no sense. I don’t give a lot of thought to my dreams because who knows what they really mean. Fortunately, I have not had nightmares or anything related to not being able to get to my baby or there being imminent danger. I did have a few dreams about my baby being a girl with curly hair though. 🙂

Pre-Natal Class: This week we had a good discussion about what contractions will feel like and how we will know if labor has started. I am positive that I have experienced braxton-hicks contractions because occasionally the bottom part of my uterus will tighten but it doesn’t last long and it’s not unbearable. I usually take it as a sign that I need to drink more water and I do. We did physical exercises and we did my favorite which is the middle school slow dance moving my hips in circles. I know that one is going to be clutch when labor comes along. My husband also met Sarah this week. She is headed to England to visit her son but she will be back in November so we will set up a time to have a more extensive chat with her.

Nesting: I met up with my wonderful girlfriend E this week since she was in Lima visiting from Cusco and getting errands done. She just had a baby boy this past July. We had a wonderful time catching up and bonding. There is nothing like having a girlfriend who knows exactly what I have gone through in terms of adjusting to life in Peru and coming to grips with things. We are both expats married to Peruvians and we will both soon have little bitties that we will be able to commiserate over. She and her husband gave us a set of three long-sleeved onesies with footy pants and I gave her a cute boys top and a pacifier. It was super nice. The clothes will be going in a dresser soon. We have yet to get one for the room but it is high on the priority list since we are gathering clothes and it is all in bags right now.

Comment/Event of the week: We went to get our licenses this week on Wednesday and while we were there the proctor of the theoretical exam was super chatty and at one point stuck his hand out and patted my tummy. It caught me off guard but afterward I asked my friend if she thought that was weird. She thought it was totally weird. He was nice and friendly and I definitely did not get a bad/harmful vibe from him but seriously dude, I don’t know you. I had read various people’s posts about this kind of thing happening but I had yet to experience it myself. I have no problem if you want to feel my tummy because it is pretty freaking cool that a little baby is swimming around in there but don’t just reach out and touch. I found the situation more amusing than anything.

Leave a Reply

