Pregnancy Update: Week 27

I was searching the internet to see what kinds of templates are out there in terms of giving weekly updates. I think they are a fun way to track the progress and I started sending my mom belly pics around week 18. There really wasn’t too much change before that.  I didn’t and don’t want to be that mom-to-be on Facebook posting my belly pic every week since it can get really annoying to others. I personally love seeing my friends’ belly pics but I think I am in the minority since I have an obvious interest in the subject going through it myself.

So here we go! Here is week 27! I think I will try to wear the same shirt every week. It is my only maternity shirt that isn’t a work shirt.

week 27

Cravings: none in particular

Sleep: I have been sleeping through the night without having to get up to go to the bathroom but I know that won’t last too much longer. I am also having intense dreams that are either frustrating or terrifying. I hope those go away soon too.

Nesting: working on a binder to put baby info in for future caretakers and family members. I also bought a Graco Pack n play from a website called Baby Cuy here in Lima. Pack n plays are super expensive here (double what they are in the States!)  I was planning on just sucking it up and buying anyway but then they dropped the price by 400 soles! Sold! Pack n plays are great because they are utilitarian and I am all about very functional things. If it doesn’t have more than one function I will most likely pass. There is this awesome high chair that converts into a table and a chair for a toddler after they get big enough on the same website and even though it is neon green, I am really tempted to get it!

Mental state: Relaxed and excited at the same time.

Currently reading: The Happiest Baby on the Block by Dr. Harvey Karp

Finally, I have to put this ticker in because a few of us were discussing how many websites that do week by week updates for pregnancy compare your baby to a fruit or vegetable. The funny thing is that fruit size in the states is definitely different from here. A papaya can be a good 4 kilos and enormous here but on this ticker I think they consider the baby to be the size of a papaya around week 30 or so. Haha! I sure hope my baby isn’t 4 kilos at 30 weeks.

 BabyFruit Ticker

 

Also, I have no idea what a rutabaga’s size is and this picture does no justice.  I think weight and measurement help me the most. One update I get said to think of my baby as a 2 pound 15 inch gummy bear. Mmm gummy bears.

Leave a Reply

