Advice from Parents

I have yet to get the onslaught of advice from people about what I should and shouldn’t do when it comes to raising my kids but I am sure it will pick up as soon as my baby actually gets here. People love to give advice no matter what culture they live in but I know for a fact that here in Peru it can be even more overwhelming. I will make sure to tell you all about it when I get some good stories.

I subscribe to a blog called Kids Activities Blog and there was a post today about advice from Facebook followers and I really liked some of them.

Keep a journal/book of notable things your kids do or say – next year they’ll be a year older, have done a years worth of things, and we can only remember so much. -Dan

My mom gave us a journal so we could write anecdotes and things about our baby. I have used it twice to write letters to her. I think I might give it to her along with a baby book when she is older and able to appreciate it.

Read to your kids when you are pregnant and read to them every day for as long as they allow. – Linda

It makes me happy to know that I am not crazy for already reading the children’s books I have found out loud. (I wasn’t actually thinking about if my baby could hear me at the time but now I might do it a bit more.)

Never say “I can’t wait for the next thing!” Enjoy each and every step in their development. Today you have a baby but blink and they are toddlers. – Jennifer

Living in the moment is something I think everyone would like to do as much as possible but I am sure that when you are stressed out and sleep deprived it is really hard not to think about how much you would like your kid to be out of their current stage. We can still strive to follow this advice though right?

To see the full list that was in the original post check out Over 100 Parenting Tips & Advice from Real Parents

Leave a Reply

