Control #5

I started having routine checkups for the pregnancy in March and today my husband accompanied me to my monthly control appointment at Pakarii with my midwife Dr. Angela Brocker. My wonderful friend Jo recommended Pakarii to me after she had such a great experience and I have to say that so far I am very happy with the service and treatment I have received. It is not a clinic but a birthing center that is dedicated to offering women a natural option for their birth. It is most well known for water births and that is exactly what I plan on doing. I will make sure to write an entry soon about water birth and why I have decided to go that route as opposed to another option.

My appointment went very well and I was very happy to have my husband alongside. I really want him to be comfortable and at ease with the location and with Dr. Brocker. She is, after all, the person who will be helping bring our most precious gift into the world. I am super happy to report that this control went very well and I actually lost a kilo since my last appointment a month ago. You are probably thinking “What? You lost weight? Aren’t you supposed to gain it when you are pregnant?” Yes, you should gain weight but you should gain around 9 or 10 kilos according to Dr. Brocker. I have read that the average woman gains between 25 and 30 pounds during her pregnancy which would be more like 11 to 13 kilos. I would be happy to stay on the lower end of the scale if possible. It will make losing the extra weight a lot easier after giving birth. Anyway, I gained 2 extra kilos while on vacation in the States in July. (It was all the ice cream, eating out and root beer floats….I couldn’t resist!) I was strictly forbidden to eat sugary things. I wasn’t worried though. I knew as soon as I got back into my regular routine of swimming and making more of my own food I would be fine and it worked!

I had some slight knee-joint pain today so I wore a brace but I think I may have worn it too long because it hurt when I took it off. I think I might only wear if while at work and then take it off as soon as I am done being on my feet in the morning. I don’t want to cause any more swelling than happens normally in my legs.

One thing I am not looking forward to is the increase in shoe size that inevitably happens with every pregnancy. My aunt and my mom told me that their feet both went up a half-size with each child. Yikes! I am going to be an 11 wide if I have two. It is already hard to find shoes in my size here in Peru. I will have to go the special order route or buy mens shoes. (I actually already did that with a pair of Nike running shoes.)

I am getting more body rocking kicks from baby lately and sometimes they even take my breath away. I hear they only get more intense. Haha. I already had a funny moment while singing in a wedding. She started kicking and it tickled so much that I started giggling a bit. I am absolutely sure that this baby is going to be a musical one! I could have sworn I heard a few noises that sounded like musical tones while the obstetrician was seating for Leah’s heartbeat. One thing is for sure, she will have plenty of options when it comes to music, singing, and playing an instrument. That is a top priority of mine!

On a final note, I just got a message from Miramoms announcing the opening of a second hand children’s clothing store. I am so excited! Baby clothes are not cheap here and this will be a great alternative! I will definitely write a review here once I check it out!

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Control #5”

Leave a Reply

